Glasses for colour blind people

Glasses for colour blind people

Contents

A colour vision disorder of genetic or acquired origin, colour blindness affects men more than women. It is characterised by the subject's difficulty in distinguishing between the colour red and green. 

To overcome this problem, glasses are made with specific characteristics. There is a whole range on the market, available from opticians or pharmacists.

The characteristics of colour blind glasses

 

Optical lenses for colour blind people generally resemble the various lenses commonly used. The difference here is that there are other criteria that are taken into account in the design. A colour-blind person is first and foremost an individual like everyone else. The glasses he wears have the same configuration as those of others. They therefore have :

  • Two branches;
  • Two sleeves;
  • A bridge;
  • Two hinges;
  • Two booklets;
  • Two tenons
  • Two circles ;
  • Two glasses.

The specificity lies in the quality of the lenses. It is not a question of correcting a visual disorder such as myopia, hyperopia or presbyopia, but of allowing a shade of colour. The manufacture generally takes into account the type of colour blindness and the stage of development of the anomaly. In order to understand this, it is necessary to refer to the way in which these binoculars work.

 

glasses and colour blindness

 

How colour-blind glasses work

 

People with colour blindness as mentioned earlier often confuse the colours red and green. Depending on the type of colour blindness, some people only perceive shades of grey. All these factors explain the complexity of developing corrective lenses. In 2010, thanks to the paint manufacturer Valspar and the start-up Enchroma, glasses were developed. Before looking at how these glasses work, it is important to know the normal physiology of colour vision.

 

Normal colour vision

 

Colour perception, or chromatopsia, is a complex physiological process that combines stimuli that cause sensations. It takes place within the organ of sight, the eye. The eye is made up of the following parts

  • The three membranes in the periphery: the sclera, the choroid and the retina;
  • The three transparent media in the centre: the aqueous humour, the lens and the vitreous body.

The part most involved in chromatopsia is the retina. In its structure, it has two categories of cells called photoreceptors namely :

  • The cone photoreceptors: they are located in the centre of the retina and allow colour vision;
  • Rod photoreceptors: these are peripheral and allow night vision.

The cones consist of a main pigment called iodopsin of which there are three types depending on the wavelength of the light received. We distinguish between :

  • The green cone for iodopsin S ;
  • The red cone for iodopsin L;
  • The blue cone for iodopsin S.

Chromatopsia involves all three types in the retina. In the case of dyschromatopsia, one of the cones is defective. Three types of colour blindness can be distinguished:

  • Protanopia: this concerns the L cone. The subject lacks L iodopsin, which means that the red is there, but deficient;
  • Deuteranopia: this involves the M cone. There is an absence of M iodopsin, which indicates a deficiency of green. This is the most frequent form of colour blindness.
  • Tritanopia: the photoreceptor involved here is the S-cone. The S iodopsin is missing, which means a blue deficiency. This form of dyschromatopsia is extremely rare. 

glasses and colour blindness

How do corrective glasses work?

 

Colour-blind binoculars separate the different types of colours, enabling the subjects concerned to distinguish yellow, blue, pink, etc. They proceed by selective filtration of the wavelengths perceived by the eye precisely at the point where they merge or overlap. They then promote an amplification of the chromatic signal sent to the integration centre (the brain). 

However, the primary colours need to be blocked, so the filter will make some precision cuts in the spectrum to induce an interruption of them. The lenses allow the appearance of certain colours by increasing the contrast between the red and green colour signals. The symptoms of dyschromatopsia are then reduced. The subjects will then be able to better apprehend nature under these different aspects. 

 

Possible side effects of these glasses

 

The use of specific glasses to correct colour blindness sometimes presents undesirable effects which are corrected with habit. In fact, the colour-blind person who has been living with the disorder since childhood or for a long time adapts by developing certain reflexes. He has his own reference point and sees the world in his own way. This attitude allows him to integrate optimally into society.

Thus, the adoption of a miracle solution will cause a total upheaval at first. From now on, he sees and distinguishes things clearly on the real and authentic aspects like everyone else. He has to review his bearings and change his reflexes to better accommodate. Such a condition can lead to disorientation and disturbances in his physiology. It is essential to seek medical advice before purchasing these binoculars to avoid a dead end.

 

eyeglasses

 

Where can I get colour-blind glasses?

 

To buy corrective lenses for colour blindness, you should ideally have a doctor's prescription and go to a specialist. This is the optician, but you can also go to a pharmacist. Alternatively, you can opt for a faster option: the Internet. There are now companies that manufacture corrective lenses for colour blind people and have online platforms. 

Go to a search engine and start your query. Within a short time, you will have many solutions ready to meet your expectations. Just choose one and explore the company's website. You have the option of ordering directly online and having your order delivered to your home, or you can contact them for a physical appointment. 

Very often, the professionals submit you to the diagnostic text before and after wearing the glasses. This is to check the presence of the disorder first and to assess the correction second.

 

The different brands available on the market

 

There are several companies offering glasses to correct colour vision deficiency. The most common are :

  • Enchroma : Enchroma is the leading brand in the market and is revolutionising the treatment of colour blindness with a range of patented, state-of-the-art products. The company offers eyewear that combines recent neuroscience innovations in colour perception. These are sold online and around the world at retailers. The start-up received the Tibbetts Award in 2016 for its achievements;
  • Pilestones : An American brand like Enchroma, it uses technology to enable colour blind people to see colours as they really are. The company offers a wide range of lenses and you can take the screening test online;
  • Kolorblind: The company not only offers glasses for colour blind people, but also gives them the possibility to get in touch with an optician on its platform. It corrects the two most common forms of colour blindness: protanopia and deuteranopia.

Share on :

Facebook
Twitter
WhatsApp
Telegram
Email
PRINT

You may like

Lunettes pour daltonien

Lunettes pour daltonien

Sommaire

Un trouble de la vision des couleurs d’origine génétique ou acquise, le daltonisme touche plus les hommes que les femmes. Il est caractérisé par une difficulté du sujet à faire la différence entre la couleur rouge et la couleur verte. 

Pour pallier ce problème, des lunettes sont mises avec des caractéristiques spécifiques. Il en existe toute une gamme sur le marché, disponible chez l’opticien ou le pharmacien.

Les caractéristiques des lunettes de daltonien

 

Les verres optiques pour daltonien ressemblent généralement aux différents verres couramment utilisés. La particularité ici est qu’il existe d’autres critères pris en compte dans la conception. Un daltonien est avant tout un individu comme tout le monde. Les lunettes qu’il porte possèdent la même configuration que celles des autres. Elles présentent donc :

  • Deux branches ;
  • Deux manchons ;
  • Un pont ;
  • Deux charnières ;
  • Deux plaquettes ;
  • Deux tenons
  • Deux cercles ;
  • Deux verres.

La spécificité se trouve au niveau de la qualité des verres. Il ne s’agit pas ici de corriger un trouble visuel comme la myopie, l’hypermétropie ou la presbytie, mais de permettre une nuance de couleur. La fabrication tient compte généralement du type de daltonisme et de stade évolutif de l’anomalie. Pour bien comprendre, il faut se référer au mode de fonctionnement de ces binocles.

 

lunettes et daltonisme

 

Fonctionnement des lunettes pour daltonien

 

Les personnes atteintes de daltonisme comme mentionné plus tôt confondent souvent les couleurs rouge et verte. En fonction du type de daltonisme, certains perçoivent seulement des nuances de gris. Tous ces facteurs expliquent la complexité de la mise au point de verres correcteurs. En 2010, grâce au fabricant de peintures Valspar et à la start-up Enchroma, les lunettes ont vu le jour. Avant de s’intéresser au fonctionnement de ces dernières, il est important de connaître la physiologie normale de la vision des couleurs.

 

La vision normale des couleurs

 

La perception des couleurs ou chromatopsie est un processus physiologique assez complexe qui regroupe des stimuli à l’origine de sensations. Il se passe au sein de l’organe de la vue que constitue l’œil. Ce dernier comprend différentes parties que sont :

  • Les trois membranes en périphérie : la sclérotique, la choroïde et la rétine ;
  • Les trois milieux transparents au centre : l’humeur aqueuse, le cristallin et le corps vitré.

La partie la plus impliquée dans la chromatopsie est la rétine. Dans sa structure, elle possède deux catégories de cellules appelées photorécepteurs à savoir :

  • Les photorécepteurs à cônes : ils se situent au centre de la rétine et permettent la vision des couleurs ;
  • Les photorécepteurs à bâtonnets : ils sont périphériques et permettent la vision nocturne.

Les cônes se composent d’un pigment principal appelé iodopsine dont on distingue trois types en fonction de la longueur d’onde de lumière captée. On distingue alors :

  • Le cône vert pour l’iodopsine ;
  • Le cône rouge pour l’iodopsine L 
  • Le cône bleu pour l’iodopsine S.

La chromatopsie suppose la mise en jeu de tous ces trois types au niveau de la rétine. Dans le cas de la dyschromatopsie, un des cônes est défaillant. On individualise ainsi trois types de daltonisme :

  • La protanopie : elle concerne le cône L. Le sujet est dépourvu d’iodopsine L, ce qui veut dire que le rouge est là, mais déficient ;
  • La deutéranopie : elle intéresse le cône M. Il y a une absence d’iodopsine M traduisant une déficience du vert. C’est la forme la plus fréquente de daltonisme.
  • La tritanopie : le photorécepteur en jeu ici est le cône S. L’iodopsine S est manquante, ce qui signifie une insuffisance du bleu. Cette forme de dyschromatopsie est extrêmement rare. 

lunettes et daltonisme

Comment marchent les lunettes correctrices ?

 

Les binocles pour daltonien séparent les différents types de couleurs permettant aux sujets concernés de distinguer le jaune, le bleu, le rose… Ils procèdent par filtration sélective des longueurs d’onde perçues par l’œil précisément au point où ils se confondent ou se chevauchent. Ils favorisent ensuite une amplification du signal chromatique envoyé au centre d’intégration (le cerveau). 

Cependant, il faut bloquer les couleurs primaires ; le filtre fera donc des coupes d’une certaine précision au niveau du spectre afin d’induire une interruption de celles-ci. Les lentilles permettent l’apparition de certaines couleurs en augmentant le contraste entre les signaux des couleurs rouge et vert. On note alors une atténuation des symptômes de la dyschromatopsie. Les sujets pourront alors mieux appréhender la nature sous ces différents aspects. 

 

Les éventuels effets indésirables de ces lunettes

 

L’utilisation de lunettes spécifiques pour corriger la cécité des couleurs présente parfois des effets indésirables qui se corrigent avec l’habitude. À vrai dire, le daltonien vivant depuis son enfance ou durant longtemps avec son trouble s’adapte en développant certains réflexes. Il possède son propre repère et voit le monde à sa façon. Cette attitude lui permet une intégration optimale dans la société.

Ainsi, l’adoption d’une solution miracle sera à l’origine d’un bouleversement total au début. Désormais, il voit et distingue nettement les choses sur les aspects réels et authentiques comme tout le monde. Il lui faut revoir ses repères et changer ses réflexes pour mieux accommoder. Une pareille condition peut entraîner une désorientation et des perturbations au niveau de sa physiologie. Il est primordial de demander l’avis d’un médecin avant de se procurer ces binocles pour ne pas se retrouver dans une impasse.

 

lunettes de vue

 

Où peut-on se procurer des lunettes pour daltonien ?

 

Pour l’achat de verres correcteurs du daltonisme, il faut idéalement se munir d’une prescription médicale et se rendre chez un spécialiste. Il s’agit de l’opticien, mais on peut se rendre chez le pharmacien également. À défaut, vous pouvez opter pour une option plus rapide : l’Internet. Il existe aujourd’hui des entreprises fabricatrices de verres correcteurs pour daltonien qui disposent de plateformes en ligne. 

Rendez-vous sur un moteur de recherche et lancez votre requête. En un laps de temps, vous aurez de nombreuses solutions prêtes à combler vos attentes. Il suffit d’en choisir une et d’explorer le site web de la société. Vous avez la possibilité de passer la commande en ligne directement et être livré chez vous ou de prendre contact afin d’obtenir un rendez-vous physique. 

Très souvent, les professionnels vous soumettent au texte de diagnostic avant et après le port des lunettes. C’est pour vérifier la présence du trouble en premier temps et apprécier la correction en un second temps.

 

Les différentes marques disponibles sur le marché

 

Plusieurs entreprises proposent des lunettes pour corriger la déficience de la vision des couleurs. Les plus courantes sont :

  • Enchroma : principale marque du marché, elle révolutionne le traitement du daltonisme avec une gamme de produits brevetés à la pointe de la technologie. La société propose des lunettes qui associent les récentes innovations de la neuroscience en matière de perception chromatique. Celles-ci se vendent en ligne et un peu partout dans le monde chez des détaillants. La start-up a reçu le prix Tibbetts en 2016 pour ses réalisations ;
  • Pilestones : marque américaine au même titre qu’Enchroma, elle utilise la technologie pour permettre aux daltoniens de voir les couleurs sous leurs apparences réelles. L’entreprise propose un large panel de verres et vous avez la possibilité de passer le test de dépistage en ligne ;
  • Kolorblind : la société propose non seulement des lunettes pour les daltoniens, mais leur donne la possibilité d’entrer en contact avec un opticien sur sa plateforme. Il corrige les deux formes de daltonisme les plus fréquents : la protanopie et la deutéranopie.

Partagez sur :

Facebook
Twitter
WhatsApp
Telegram
Email
IMPRIMER

Vous pourriez aimer